Sunday, March 7, 2010

American Academy of Arts and Letters announces music award winners

From the press release:

American Academy of Arts and Letters 2010 Music Award Winners Announced

The American Academy of Arts and Letters has announced sixteen recipients of this year's awards in music, which total $170,000. The awards will be presented at the Academy's annual Ceremonial in May in New York City. Candidates for music awards are nominated by the 250 members of the Academy and the winners were selected by a committee of Academy members: Robert Beaser (chairman), Bernard Rands, Gunther Schuller, Steven Stucky, and Yehudi Wyner.

Academy Awards in Music

Four composers will each receive a $7,500 Academy Award in Music, which honors outstanding artistic achievement and acknowledges the composer who has arrived at his or her own voice. Each will receive an additional $7,500 toward the recording of one work. The winners are Daniel Asia, David Felder, Pierre Jalbert, and James Primosch.

Wladimir and Rhoda Lakond Award

The Wladimir and Rhoda Lakond award of $10,000 is given to a promising mid-career composer. This year the award will go to James Lee III.

Goddard Lieberson Fellowships

Two Goddard Lieberson fellowships of $15,000, endowed in 1978 by the CBS Foundation, are given to mid-career composers of exceptional gifts. This year they will go to Philippe Bodin and Aaron Travers.

Walter Hinrichsen Award

Paula Matthusen will receive the Walter Hinrichsen Award for the publication of a work by a gifted composer. This award was established by the C. F. Peters Corporation, music publishers, in 1984.

Charles Ives Fellowships

Harmony Ives, the widow of Charles Ives, bequeathed to the Academy the royalties of Charles Ives' music, which has enabled the Academy to give the Ives awards in music since 1970. Two Charles Ives Fellowships, of $15,000 each, will be awarded to Anna Clyne and Michael Djupstrom.

Charles Ives Scholarships

Shawn Brogan Allison, Jesse Jones, Eric Nathan, Clint Needham, Jude Vaclavik, and Roger Zare will receive Charles Ives Scholarships of $7,500, given to composition students of great promise.

No comments: