Saturday, June 7, 2014

Quadraphonnes Saxophone Quartet at First Presbyterian Church

Saxophone Impressions

Quadraphonnes Saxophone Quartet
Michelle Medler, Mieke Bruggeman-Smith, Mary-SueTobin, and Chelsea Luker
Concert on Celebration Works: Music & Art at First Presbyterian series
12th Season

Where: Sanctuary of First Presbyterian Church, 1200 SW Alder, Portland
Free parking during concert in underground garage at corner of SW 12th and Morrison

When: Sunday, June 8 at 2:00 pm

Tickets: General admission: $15. Students/Seniors: $10. Sold at the door.

About the concert - from the press release:
Celebration Works Concert Series concludes its 12th season on Sunday, June 8th at 2:00 pm in the Sanctuary at First Presbyterian Church with the Quadraphonnes Saxophone Quartet in “Saxophone Impressions”. The Quadraphonnes are an all-female saxophone quartet, comprised of Chelsea Luker (soprano sax), Mary-Sue Tobin (alto sax), Michelle Medler (tenor sax), and Mieke Bruggeman-Smith (baritone sax). They will be performing a wide range of classical saxophone quartet literature as well as several duets. Guest saxophonist, Lee Elderton, will be joining themon the duets.

Many view the saxophone primarily as a jazz instrument. This concert will be a unique opportunity to see the depth and beauty of the saxophone as a classical instrument. Even though the saxophone was not invented until the 1840s, there are many original works for saxophone quartet. Many of these works are by lesser-known composers; earlier composers such as Bach and Mozart did not have the instrument as part of their pallette. Today’s saxophonists can play Bach and Mozart though, due to the many modern arrangements of older repertoire. The Quadraphonnes will be performing one transcription of J.S. Bach’s Well Tempered Clavier to showcase what was originally composed for solo keyboard translates to a saxophone quartet piece. Original compositions for saxophone quartet, including works by Glasunov and Bozza, will also be featured along with a modern transcription of a tango by Astor Piazzolla.

No comments: